Conceal

File:Concealed carry holsters for xds springfield.jpg
Image Credit: Wikimedia Commons

The Daily Post had a Daily Prompt today called Conceal, and this is what it said:

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt. Not sure how to participate? Here are the steps to get started.

And this is my response:

Conceal

Ideal Conceal

Magpul FMG-9

The end,

-John Jr

8 Replies to “Conceal”

    1. Hello Lifelessons,

      I recently stopped doing Daily Prompts because I do not like the one-word prompts and they keep having them every day and because I already spend enough time typing my dreams each day, but this prompt made me think of the Ideal Conceal which I read about in a news article recently; and so I decided to use that because that is the first thing that I thought of when I saw the word conceal.

      Thank you for commenting,
      -John Jr

      Like

        1. Hello Lifelessons,

          Interesting, so far everyone I have talked to about this also at least somewhat likes the one-word prompts now, except for me. 😀

          I do not have a problem with them doing one-word prompts sometimes, but every day for over a month is unacceptable in my opinion when we used to have a lot more variety in the Daily Prompts; and that slowly drained away all of my interest and joy from doing Daily Prompts, and it became a chore and bore and annoyance and a drag for me that helped almost led to me retiring from blogging (there were other factors involved, but that did not help improve the situation).

          -John Jr

          Like

          1. Do you know about Jennifer’s two word prompts? They suggest more and if you don’t like the one you get you can try again. Here is a link: http://jennifernicholewells.blogspot.mx/2015/08/jnws-writing-photo-prompt-generator.html

            When WordPress started repeating prompts for a third time, I switched to hers for awhile. Then WordPress got more interesting so I switched back. I like being able to see how others have answered the prompt and to have an easy way to connect with new blogs which is why I keep going back to WordPress.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I did not know about it, thank you for the link Lifelessons.

              I probably will not try it though, but it is good that I know about more options now.

              Fortunately for me I am not a new blogger and I have something to blog about each day, my dreams, and so I never did need the Daily Prompts all these years; but at the end of last year I decided to try them as an experiment, and I was surprised and impressed and I saw how they could help bloggers who do not know what to blog about and they can help bloggers connect to each other better.

              The Daily Prompts can be very helpful and could have helped more people get into and stay with blogging, and so it is sad to me to see them go downhill like this; and that they reuse too many prompts when many of us have shared new prompts ideas with them that they could use instead.

              Another thing that annoyed me and that I reported three times is that Daily Prompts do not show in the Reader anymore, you have to be following by email and/or checking the website manually to get them, and they have never fixed this even months later.

              Thank you,
              -John Jr

              Liked by 1 person

            2. Did all of the responders to the Daily Prompt once go into The Reader? I only see people I’m following in The Reader but perhaps that was something I elected. I do see people who do the Daily Prompt that I follow in the Reader but have to go to the site to see the rest…

              Liked by 1 person

            3. Not the responders, but the prompts themselves.

              I follow blogs by email and by the WordPress.com Reader, so when people publish posts I get an email about it and it shows up in the Reader then I click to visit the blog itself from either the email or the Reader, and I thought that this used to happen for Daily Prompts at the end of last year and at the very beginning of this year until they stopped showing up in the Reader one day.

              I get email alerts of new Daily Prompts now, but no notification in the Reader anymore.

              Some people only follow blogs through the Reader to know when people publish new posts, and then they either read it from there or click to visit the blog; but if they do not get notifications in the Reader they will not know that you have published a post.

              So those people will not even know about new Daily Prompts if they are not following by email and/or manually checking the blog every day for new posts.

              I do not have this problem anywhere else or with anything else, except for Daily Prompts, other posts on The Daily Post show up normally by email and by the Reader except for Daily Prompts.

              After reporting this three times, they said that it is probably because most of the prompts are old published posts so they do not show up in the Reader again when they are republished, but that they would see if this could be fixed somehow; but months later nothing has changed.

              Even though I no longer do Daily Prompts, I still think that this should be fixed, because some people are missing out on Daily Prompts.

              -John Jr

              Like

Please Comment

