Chocolate (2008 Film) (Zen: Warrior Within)

File:Chocolate 2008 poster.jpg
Source: Wikipedia.org

What is it?

The 2008 Thai martial arts film called Chocolate (Zen, Warrior Within) that was directed by Prachya Pinkaew and starred the actress Yanin Vismitananda (Yanin “Jeeja” Vismitananda) as the character named Zen.

What is it about?

They did a terrible job setting up the plot of Chocolate and letting the viewer know what was going on and who was who in my opinion, and so we had to make up our own story about what was going on during various parts of this film as we watched it.

This is what the IMDB article for Chocolate (2008) says:

An autistic girl with powerful martial art skills looks to settle her ailing mother’s debts by seeking out the ruthless gangs that owe her family money.

Why do you like it?

I actually did not like Chocolate, it was not terrible but it disappointed me, but I did like and respect that the actors and actresses did their own stunts; and I got a few laughs, I liked some of the action scenes and stunts, and we had some fun making up our own story during certain parts of the film.

Why would someone else like it?

I think that people will like some of the non-stunt double actions scenes and stunts, and the fact that the main character has a disability that is used as an advantage.

Final Thoughts

I had no idea what Chocolate was about when I checked it out from The BP Library where I work as a shelver, I expected more from this film so it disappointed me, and I hated how they failed to explain important parts of the plot which left us not knowing what was going on and who was who sometimes.

This film was longer than it should have been and overall the action scenes were not as good as I had expected, I also think that many of the stunts were more dangerous than they should have been, but I do respect them for really doing these stunts and action scenes themselves.

I think that the trailer for this film and some of the outtakes/bloopers/on set injuries at the end of the film were better and more interesting than the film itself.

The end,

-John Jr

Please Comment

