Le Fabuleux Destin D’Amélie Poulain (Amélie)

File:Amelie poster.jpg
Source: Wikipedia.org

What is it?

The 2001 French romantic comedy film Le Fabuleux Destin D’Amélie Poulain (Amélie) which was directed by the director Jean-Pierre Jeunet and starred the actress Audrey Tautou (Audrey Justine Tautou) as the main character Amélie Poulain:

What is it about?

One day a shy introverted kind imaginative woman living in Paris, France finds some old items from many years hidden in her apartment that belonged to someone who used to live in her apartment, she decides to track down the owner of the items and return them to this person, and this inspires her to go around helping people in unique ways and along the way she finds a man who(m) she falls in love with.

Why do you like it?

I liked Le Fabuleux Destin D’Amélie Poulain (Amélie) because it was a whimsical adventure of a shy quiet introverted kind creative imaginative woman who I could relate to living in a somewhat fantasized version of Paris, France, I loved Audrey Tautou’s performance and her character Amélie Poulain and her smile and her big brown eyes, I liked some of the magical moments where the music and scenes went together well, and the film gave the viewer an idea of what life can be like for someone like Amélie as she struggles with isolation/shyness/anxiety/being introverted/et cetera while trying to deal with other people and deal with falling in love.

Why would someone else like it?

I think that other people will like Le Fabuleux Destin D’Amélie Poulain (Amélie) because of Audrey Tautou’s performance and her character Amélie Poulain and her smile, the somewhat fantasized version of Paris, France, the whimsical and unique nature of this film, how this film is not like your usual romance comedy film, and how some parts of this film can just make you smile and feel happy/good.

Final Thoughts

Years ago when my family and I would visit the city of LC we would sometimes stop at a Target store, and when I would walk past the electronics department in the film/movie section I would always see a unique colorful DVD case with a colorful green background with an extra cover over it with an opening that showed the face of a woman with very pale whitish-color skin with short black hair smiling with a unique friendly/something else that I can not describe smile while looking back at me.

This DVD case would always get my attention because of the unique case and colors and the woman’s unique friendly/whatever/welcoming smile and how it would look like she was looking at you with her big eyes drawing your attention and I would look at the DVD case and it would probably bring a smile to my face, I saw that it was a French film that seemed to have a lot of positive reviews from critics, but the DVD was probably a bit expensive so I never did buy it but it always caught my attention when I visited this store so I would glance at it each time that I walked by.

That DVD case was for the film Le Fabuleux Destin D’Amélie Poulain (Amélie).

Years later on Facebook (Fakebook) or Myspace (back when I still had an account on both of those services) I saw that my former female classmate MW had this film listed as one of her favorite films, and so I decided that I should finally watch this film because I had been curious about watching it for years.

I went to Blockbuster to rent the film because it was hard to find and my local library probably did not have it, I rented it and I finally watched it, and I liked it and I put it on my list of favorite films; and it was one of the last if not the last films that I rented from Blockbuster before they went out of business.

I liked and related to the character Amélie Poulain, from parts of her personality to her imagination and to her struggles with shyness and love et cetera, and so I recommend watching Le Fabuleux Destin D’Amélie Poulain (Amélie).

The end,

-John Jr

Please Comment

