The Waldo Moment | A Patron Asks About TrueCrypt

File:Black Mirror - The Waldo Moment.jpg
Source: Wikipedia.org

Dream 1

This dream from last night was inspired by episode 3 of season 2 of the television show Black Mirror which was an episode called The Waldo Moment.

All that I can remember of this dream from last night is that it involved things from The Waldo Moment episode of season 2 of Black Mirror like the character Jamie Salter and the animated bear character that he plays named Waldo, but that is all that I can remember of this dream.

Dream 2

All that I can remember of this dream is that it probably took place during the day inside a room that was like a slightly fictional larger version of my brother TD’s and my brother KD’s bedroom combined with a fictional room at The BP Library where I work I assume.

This room had some desks and maybe tables and chairs where several people were sitting which included: some of my coworkers from The BP Library, one or more patrons, and I.

I was sitting at a desk on a computer that I assume was a laptop, and I was browsing the internet but I am not sure what I was doing exactly.

My coworker Mrs. MH and maybe one other female coworker were sitting behind the front desk which was along the back wall where the air conditioner in the bedroom of my brothers KD and TD should be, and some of our other coworkers were sitting among the desks and maybe tables where the patron or patrons were (which is where I was as well).

At some point a female patron with light-color skin with maybe medium-to-dark color hair, who was sitting at a desk near the front desk, started talking out-loud wondering if anyone knew anything about a program called TrueCrypt.

The woman explained: that she had met a man who she thought was attractive under a certain light but who was less attractive when she got to see him in a different light or in the light (in the dream I was not exactly sure how to interpret this exactly, and so I thought of several possibilities of what she meant when she said this such as: maybe they met under low lighting at a bar / club during the night and went home and had sex and the next morning she got to see how he really looks in better lighting and when not drunk and / or they briefly dated but he ended up not being the person she had expected) and I assume that things did not work out between them, and that during their time together he had mentioned a program called TrueCrypt and that she thought that this program sounded interesting and like something that she might want to try.

My coworker Mrs. MH and the others had no idea what TrueCrypt was and it seemed that they would not even bother looking it up, I knew what TrueCrypt was because I used to use it before it got discontinued and I now use one of its replacements called VeraCrypt which I use to encrypt some of my files, and so I was going to tell the woman about both programs once she finishes talking.

I started thinking about what I would say and I tried to simplify it in a way that she could understand as someone who knows nothing about these two free and open source disk encryption programs, and I got up from my desk while doing this in my mind as I walked over to share this information with the patron and offer to help her download and install and use VeraCrypt because TrueCrypt was discontinued but I woke up.

The end,

-John Jr

Please Comment

