Emilíana Torrini – Tuna Fish (Live) – Montreux Jazz Festival 2005

Source: Wikimedia Commons

Several times now I have wanted to do some posts about some songs and videos by the Icelandic musician Emilíana Torrini and her album Love In The Time Of Science (which is a great name for an album in my opinion, and it is probably still my current favorite name for an album and it has even inspired one of my past blog names and blog taglines), but the official playlist of that album on YouTube was removed and so I have been waiting for the official version to return before doing posts about that album and some of the songs on that album (I will probably end up using an unofficial YouTube playlist and some unofficial videos instead when I can not find official versions).

Recently I wanted to do a post for her song Tuna Fish from that album (which is one of my favorite songs from that album) but there is no official version of the song on YouTube anymore at this time as far as I know, but there is a live performance of this song on Emilíana Torrini’s Official YouTube Channel called 08 Tunafish – Live Emilíana Torrini FULL CONCERT Montreux Jazz Festival 2005 so I decided to do a post on that instead for now.

This live performance of Tuna Fish is different from the album version in pacing, tone, mood, feel, et cetera (it is faster and more upbeat than the album version) so I hope to do a post on the album version one day because they are both pretty different from each other so two separate posts makes more sense to me.

Live Performance

Lyrics (By Google Play Music)

I am lying in my bed
Watching the spider eat the fly
I say “How is that its breakfast even for you”
A little later I am sitting by the window looking out
The red palm is really blowing up the street

I am to stay up to eat breakfast
So I smell my favorite tea
A cup of coffee won’t do for me

How days creep by in the greying sky
How days creep by and they never even try
How days creep by in the greying sky
How days creep by

Guess it’s time for a walk
Just to read some license plates
What is Autumn doing creeping up on me
Going on the tube to scream when the train arrives
Rubbing cress on my skin, God it smells so nice
All the same I think I’ll go on rolling up the hill
If I’m lucky you won’t see me

How days creep by in the greying sky
How days creep by come and ask me why
How days creep by in the greying sky
How days creep by

Did you know that tuna fish float up to the surface
Belly to the moonlight just to cool down their heart down
‘Cause it helps them just to think about the hurtful things
I guess it’s just one way to get them some sedation

How days creep by in the greying sky
How days creep by and they definitely die
How days creep by in the greying sky
How days creep by

How days creep by and they definitely die
How days creep by come and ask me why
How days creep by
How days creep by

Written by Emiliana Torrini, Siggi Baldursson, Francis Eg White • Copyright © Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd., Warner/Chappell Music, Inc, Universal Music Publishing Group

The end,

-John Jr

12 thoughts on “Emilíana Torrini – Tuna Fish (Live) – Montreux Jazz Festival 2005

Add yours

    1. Hello Sissh,

      Thank you for the compliment. 🙂

      I actually had never heard that song before so I listened to it on YouTube after reading your comment, thank you for sharing that, I am pretty out-of-date when it comes to music so I pretty much only had one or two of her albums. 😀

      I am curious to get some opinions about which of these themes should I test out on my blog?

      1. Independent Publisher 2 (https://wordpress.com/theme/independent-publisher-2)

      2. Dyad 2 (https://wordpress.com/theme/dyad-2)

      3. Baskerville 2 (https://wordpress.com/theme/baskerville-2)

      4. Intergalactic 2 (https://wordpress.com/theme/intergalactic-2)

      Thank you for commenting,
      -John Jr

      Liked by 1 person

      1. First, thanks for asking for my opinion – I’m glad you feel you can ask me. 🙂

        Hmm… after looking at each of these for a bit I realize why its so hard to pick between them!
        But I’d rule out Intergalactic 2 first because, although it is visually appealing and has a simple yet bold design, I feel it’d be a better fit for a photography blog.
        Baskerville 2 and Independent Publisher 2 are also pretty cool – I love the simplicity, readability and crisp designs of each. But you tend to have cool photos included in your posts so Independent Publisher 2 might downplay that a bit…
        My final judgement, then, would be between Baskerville 2 and Dyad 2 – both of which have a nice layout, along with a balanced display between the pictures and the writing. I really like the checkerboard alignment of Dyad 2 between posts and the space between text/photos is easy on the eyes. The dynamic layout of baskerville 2 is too busy for my eyes (lol I’m weird like that) but I like how the posts without any pictures are integrated…

        With all that said (quite a mouthful, I know! ^_^), I’d go for Dyad 2.

        I hope this helps! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You are welcome, and thank you Sissh for taking the time to give me your opinion. 🙂

          Your response was so professional and spot-on, I forgot that you had the artist’s eye superpower, now I feel like I should pay you or something. 😀

          I definitely agree with you about the Intergalactic 2 theme, and it was also the first one that I would have crossed off from the list.

          The Independent Publisher 2 theme was also the second one that I would have crossed off from the list.

          I also felt that Baskerville 2 was probably a bit too busy, so I guess that I am weird too 😉 , and it was the third one that I would have crossed off from the list.

          Dyad 2 was my first pick as well and I agree with you about this one, I just wish that there was a sidebar option and that the default font was a bit bigger and darker, I do not like faded fonts because they are harder for me to read and just annoy me but being able to change the font helps somewhat but it still bothers me but just not as much.

          Thank you very much, that definitely helps me because I sometimes can not decide what to pick and I want to use themes that visitors to my blog will like as well 😀 , WordPress.com should get your feedback before they release themes. 🙂

          -John Jr

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Haha seems like we have similar thought patterns when it comes to design!

            I completely agree with you on the faded fonts. But I think that is a trick they use to make you feel bothered enough to click on the post and actually read further (research suggests most people these days just skim the header and first paragraph and move on). Its kind of effective but it gets annoying when you start feeling like you *need* to read every single post even when you don’t have time lol.

            Its pretty cool you consider your readership when it comes to your blogs appearance. I’m honestly not that great at design but I’m glad that I could throw in my 2c worth haha. 😀

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Hello Sissh,

              Yep. 😀

              Wow! I did not know that, you taught me something new, thank you. 🙂

              And I am glad that I asked you, now I know a professional theme consultant. 😉

              Now that we have a theme picked, I would like to get your opinion on two things involving the Dyad 2 theme.

              1. Do you think that I should continuing using header images for this theme?

              2. I am currently testing out a feature on this theme where you can pick a tag and the 6 most recent posts that have that tag will be featured on the Home page as an automatic slideshow at the top of the page, do you think that I should continue using this feature?

              Thank you,
              -John Jr

              Liked by 1 person

            2. Lol, a professional theme consultant? Hardly! But I do enjoy helping out where I can. 🙂

              Hmm… I think you can forgo the header images. Unless you’d be able to get high resolution images to put up there that is…
              I don’t think the feature looks as cool when the images show up pixelated.
              The same goes for your second question – its a great feature and a good idea that adds a nice bit of interest and dynamic to your homepage but the pixelation is killing it and doing more harm than good to the overall look.

              If you’re happy with it though I don’t think you should worry too much about it, but definitely try to get high res images for a better look. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

            3. Hello Sissh,

              😀 😉

              I definitely agree with you about not liking the low-resolution images that I have to deal with at times because I usually mostly use hotlinked images from Wikipedia and Wikimedia Commons to avoid copyright issues, and so I am no longer using that theme option now so thank you very much for answering that.

              I have reverted back to the default WordPress.com header images that are probably high-resolution (do you think that these are high enough resolution?), I have it set to random so it shows a random default header image every time a page reloads, I am curious about how you think those default header images look compared to having no header images.

              I am okay with going header image-less, but I am just curious about which looks best to an artist / theme consultant like yourself. 😉

              I apologize for all the questions but I am curious about something you mentioned previously about how the Independent Publisher 2 theme might downplay images on my post a bit, I was just curious about in what ways do you think it might downplay images on posts?

              Thank you,
              -John Jr

              Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi John,

    Sorry for not replying sooner! ^_^ (and for typing up a whole new comment – I can’t seem to find the reply button on your last reply.)

    Hmmm I’ve given Independent Publisher another look over and now I can’t remember why I would’ve made that conclusion. I suppose After looking through the themes about page the biggest impression I got was that it was a theme more focused on words/text? I mean if you judge by the mobile and tablet preview (and even the desktop preview) it seems very text centralized, and minimal; with only a logo image on display. And even though you have the option of a header image it seems more encouraged to keep it simple, so I naturally made the conclusion it would be better for a text heavy blog with little to no images.
    … however now that I think about it, this theme would be similar to your previous themes (i.e. simple aesthetic, clean design, plenty of eye space, etc) and would fit well with your overall image? idkt..

    I haven’t tried these themes out on my own blog like I did before but I would trust wordpress with the default images they would pick.
    Go with your gut on that part, you’re the first person who should be pleased with your blog after all 😀

    Sissh 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Sissh,

      No problem, in situations like that when the reply button is not showing up (because after a certain number of replies the reply button does not show up), there is a technique that you can use where you find the next-to-most recent comment in the thread that does have a reply button and you reply to that comment and your comment will show up in that thread; another blogger shared that with me once. 😉

      Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions. 🙂

      -John Jr

      Liked by 1 person

Please Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

