Tilda Swinton – ‘Like This’

Source: Wikimedia Commons

Today I read a post by Daniel MacKillican called When Three Became Two – Video Version, and his post inspired me to make this post as part of my continuing efforts to diversify the content on my blog; and so thank you Daniel MacKillican for the inspiration.

A couple of years ago I was on SoundCloud listening to a dream mix or something like that (unfortunately it is gone now) which someone made using a combination of songs and scenes from several films involving dreams when I accidentally found some audio of the actress Tilda Swinton reading a poem for a promotional campaign for a new perfume called Like This by Etat libre d’Orange, and she read a poem called Like This from the book The Essential Rumi by Jalaluddin Rumi (Jalāl ad-Dīn Muhammad Rūmī) (Rumi) and translated by Coleman Barks.

I like Mrs. Swinton’s voice and accent so it was nice to be able to hear her read something, especially something unexpected like poetry, and especially a poem that I had never heard of before.

I think that Mrs. Swinton should do more voice work.

Video

Audio

The end,

-John Jr

Please Comment

